DeLand High Schools 2018 Hall of Fame inductees


NEW INDUCTEES — The High Schools of DeLand Sports Hall of Fame recently inducted six new members during a Bulldog football game. Pictured, from left, are Pauline Johnson, the mother of AJ Johnson, who was unable to attend, and Johnson's niece Ibaysha Smith; inductees John Jokinen and Jimmy Kicklighter; DHS Principal Dr. Melissa Carr; Nick Chillemi representing the late Murray Miller; DeLand Mayor Bob Apgar; and inductees Becky Thyhsen Sampson and Mary Aman Vesper. The ceremony was sponsored by the DeLand Kiwanis Club, The Trophy Factory Plus, Simoneau Photography and DeLand High School.

The High Schools of DeLand Sports Hall of Fame inducted six new members Nov. 2, at the DeLand-Seabreeze football game. Those to be inducted are Allen “BJ” Johnson, John Jokinen, Jimmy Kicklighter, Murray Miller, Becky Thyhsen Sampson and Mary Aman-Vesper. This year, all six are graduates of DeLand High.

Johnson played football and was a weightlifter, graduating in 1993.

Jokinen graduated in 1961, and played baseball, basketball and football, and ran track.

Kicklighter competed in basketball, baseball, football and track in 1970.

Miller, who is deceased, was a golfer, a coach and a booster, graduating in 1975.

Thyhsen Sampson and Aman-Vesper graduated in 1987, with both playing volleyball and track, while Aman-Vesper also ran cross-country.

Their plaques will go on display along with those of the 65 other former honorees in the new gym at DeLand High School. They can be viewed anytime during a volleyball, basketball or wrestling match at DeLand High.