Delta Sigma Theta DeLand chapter sisters at Edith I. Starke Elementary School

RAISING LEADERS — Members of the DeLand chapter of the Delta Sigma Theta sorority pose with the principal of Edith I. Starke Elementary School in DeLand with a basket full of donated pairs of shoes. From left are DST DeLand chapter President Natalie Watts Brown and Starke Elementary School Principal Eilene Ahr, with sorority sisters Patricia Lane, Celestine Thomas, Barbara Bing, Brenda Cusack and Dorothy Bender. Ahr told The Beacon she was thankful for the donations and looks forward to giving students in need brand-new shoes. Some of the shoes even light up, which is sure to put a smile on a student’s face.